I want my foreskin back!

I’m writing a paper on intersex right now. Researching it has been a fascinating and depressing process. Americans get all up in arms about female genital mutilation going on all over the world. They go to rallies, lick stamps, and tell 10,000-year-old tribes why their way of life is fucked up.

In the mean time, 2,600 to 4,000 babies are mutilated in the United States every year. They are born intersex. The term used to be hermaphrodite, but that’s not PC anymore. I’ve read so many interviews and quotes from intersex people about how they never had the chance to experience their bodies as Nature made them. Some dumbfuck doctor played God and cut off this or sewed up that. Apparently the good doctor wanted to do them a favor.

And it has stirred something in me. I was butchered, too. I was circumcised. Someone cut off my foreskin because in this culture that’s what doctors do. It’s tradition to cut a baby’s penis. Granted, society’s come a long way and this tradition is dying out, but that doesn’t give me my hood back! I was mad about this a few years ago, and I thought I was over it. There’s nothing I can do. What’s done is done. Yeah. That’s rational. But fuck the doctor who told my parents it was a good idea. Fuck the people who still subject their children to this barbaric practice.

I met a guy who had a botched circumcision. He had no sensation in his penis and couldn’t get an erection. I started crying when he told me the story. He was gay, and his parents told him they were glad he couldn’t get it up, because it meant he couldn’t have sex with men. I asked him about prostate stimulation. He explained that it’s the nerve connections to the penis that make that pleasurable. He couldn’t experience sexual pleasure at all. He disappeared one day. I think he killed himself, but I’ve never known for sure.

This culture has got to get its shit together around sex. Seriously. Bigotry, butchery, bullshit!

4 thoughts on “I want my foreskin back!

  1. I’m not sure how I found myself on your blog today but I’m glad I ended up here. I cant believe you’ve gotten no response to your blog. I rarley comment on blogs, but this is an important issue I’m surprised no one ever talks about. I remember when my only son was born and how my intuition spoke loudly that I was torturing my son by having him circumcised. Everyone thought I was crazy, just too sensitive of a person. I dated a doctor who at least used an anesthetic on the babies before he performed the procedure. The other doctors thought he was “too sensitive.” I think this is an important issue to be researching. I’m surprised more people are not speaking out, especially mothers who have just given birth. This is something that should make the headlines. I did a large art exhibit on universal violence against women. Now there needs to be one on the silent, everyday violence against baby boys who have no voice. I would imagine, and always felt that the trauma of the procedure must stay with a man on some subconscious level throughout his lifetime. Thank you for your courage and speaking out.

    Nancy from Plymouth, MI

  2. I was mutilated at birth too. It’s caused all kinds of problems for me all my life.

    I’ve been trying to speak out on this, nobody listens. I’ve been writing political figures, they ignore me. Women are protected from this horrible genital mutilation under federal law, I’m sure glad everyone is equal… men still have NO protection against genital mutilation.

    You can try restoring your foreskin, but it’s definately never going to be the same as original equipment. Keep talking about it, maybe someday we’ll finally get someone to listen.

  3. I’m only 18, but I am completely aware of this horrible procedure. I am 100% against it’s use on babies who cannot speak for themselves. If people choses to have it done later on in life, like tattoos and piercings, good for them, but leave babies out of it. So much sensitivity had to have been lost because I have VERY little feeling on the skin from the back of the head to the scar. Also, the skin on my head is rough and there are several cracks all over it. I can’t imagine that’s a good sign. I’ve tried lotion, but it doesn’t really do all that much. I’m really pissed about my mother’s response to the procedure. She told me “ITS WHAT YOU DO”. When she said that, I almost lost all control of myself. I will never forgive her for this, or my father for saying “ITS CLEANER”. They need to start teaching this in high schools, and should have talk shows and commercials, or anything that can reach a younger audience and make them aware of the risks. It really angers me to see that all versions female circumcision are illegal, but yet male circumcision is still practiced daily in the U.S. It would be really nice if one day penis regeneration would be possible and affordable. They can already replicate the penile structure of rats, so hopefully human restoration won’t be too far away. I just want to be complete and happy. Many things are going wrong with my life right now and I’m really getting tired of it.

    Jimmy, Indiana

Leave a Reply

