Tim Phillips Bay Area Audition Technique Intensive

Tim Phillips BookA couple of weeks ago I audited Tim Phillips’s audition technique class! I had read his book filled with juicy nuggets of wisdom and I was prepared to drink straight from the tap. He did not disappoint. Sitting in a roomful of working actors is inspiring in itself. Watching Tim coach these actors was a genuine thrill. He offers simple straightforward adjustments that take audition scenes from good to Woah! in 2 seconds flat. I brought a scene with me that I had prepared, and he took me in a completely different direction from what I how I had been doing it. My scene partner, Will Chen, and I presented it for a casting director two days later, and she seemed very satisfied with our work.

A few days later, one of Tim’s students, James DuMont, was interviewed for Backstage magazine. (You can read that article here.) Mr. DuMont is currently everywhere! I’ve seen him in American Horror Story: Coven, Dallas Buyers Club, and American Hustle. He’s a great actor, he’s working in Oscar-nominated movies… And he’s only one of Tim’s students who is working and thriving as an actor in television and film!

I know actors in the Bay Area would love working with Tim — and his coaching would elevate everyone’s game! And now that we have the details worked out, I can officially say…

Tim Phillips will be teaching an Audition Technique Weekend Intensive at the Waterfront Playhouse and Conservatory in Berkeley May 17 and 18, 2014!

  • Saturday, May 17,  12pm-3pm – Lecture: “Sherlock Holmesing the Text”
  • Sunday, May 18, 10am-3pm – On-camera class.

Note: The lecture is a prerequisite for  the on-camera class.

CLICK HERE TO REGISTER!

If you’re a Bay Area actor you don’t want to miss this. My suggestion is to read Tim’s book, Audition for Your Career, Not the Job, before coming to the intensive. It provides the vocabulary and concepts so you can dive into the subtleties of the work more quickly and deeply. (Think of it as a text book to read before your college lecture and lab.) Then show up to class hungry to learn game-changing audition techniques. We have him for one weekend. Let’s drink every drop of insight and wisdom we can.

Leave a Reply

